Stardust Inline Speed Skating Team

The Stardust Speed Club began in the Tampa, Florida in the late 1970’s. The club was formed by Bob Trosky and one of his first skaters was current Tampa coach Sam Johnson. The club grew to national status in the early 1980’s competing throughout the US. In 1984 at the US National Championship, Bob Trosky approached Ed Mueller the coach at the Palace in Lantana, Florida about combining clubs to counteract the combining of clubs in the Tampa area. In 1985 the Palace Entertainment Center in Lantana became part of the Stardust Speed Skating family. The club enjoyed National Championship success throughout the rest of 1980’s and early 1990’s. Bob Trosky and Ed Mueller were named Co-Coaches of the Year in 1989.

In 1991 Bob Trosky retired from coaching and Sam Johnson took over as the Tampa coach. Struggling with changes in the Tampa area Sam eventually moved the United Skates of America rink in 1994. In 1998 Sam Johnson and Ed Mueller were named Co-Coaches of the Year a second time for the Stardust coaches. The Stardust Speed Club prospered in the late 1990’s and grew both their indoor and outdoor program.

Stardust produced World Team Members Jarrett Paul, Chad Burdzilauskas, Jonathan Webster, Jean Hoy, Joey Colozzo and Michele McCranels to add to previous World Team members Mike Mueller, Lisa Trosky and Deanna Parker.

sammy johnson speed skating coach

Coach Samuel Johnson

Back to top button